Add Snippet

Mark Griswold

     "My family has had a long history with Cedar Creek. In fact, my parents first met at this pool, as both sets of my grandparents lived here for many years. Several years, and four daughters later, my father decided we should join the Cedar Creek Stingrays swim team. A few years after that, Dave Reason became the head coach, and my father was fully invested as a stroke judge and soon after, a starter. Our family was there every practice, every meet, every party, every luau (He helped with the pig!) and every single swim banquet. He loved this team. He loved the kids on the team. He loved the parents that were part of this team (The Fliegs, The Detars, The Burchins', the Guys, and others - I am looking at you!). 

     My father was brilliant, hilarious and had this uncanny ability to command a room at a whim. He was raised Catholic, the 2nd of 10 children. He was a former college football player, yet also an art major. He had four girls, yet they all played sports. He could grill a burger, and bake a killer casserole. He was fiercely loyal to his friends and expected that same loyalty in return. He was remarkably firm in his expectations, but always affectionate and attentive. He played tennis, all the while cussing like a sailor. He was the perfect example of a dichotomy. He was also my best friend. Thank you for continuing to honor his legacy as part of the Stingrays. It really does mean the world to my sisters, my mom, and myself."  - Karen (Griswold) Johnson

Mark Griswold Award 

     Mark passed in 2004 and is survived by his wife, Kim, and four daughters; Karen, Meredith, Allison and Christina and their families.  Mark's work ethic, dedication, teamwork and outstanding efforts live on every year through the male recipients of the Mark Griswold Award. Voted upon by the coaching staff, each swimmer embodies athleticism and solid character and are recognized at the season ending celebration for always wanting the same amount of light to shine on everyone.

Text Area
Simple formatted text
Delete Edit_snippet

Award Recipients

2019- Seth Seffy Alsobrook

2018 - Rodrigo "RJ" Cruz

2017 - Samuel Alsobrook & Alex Schroder

2016 - Aidan Stoffle

2015 - Morris Wan

2014 - Willy Lehner

2013 - Davis Orr

2012 - Grant McCord

2011 - Brad Goza

2010 - Sameer Ghulam & Sam Schroder

2009 - Michael Rabalais

2008 - Ricky Lehner

2007 - Nick White

2006 - Ricky Lehner

2005 - Collin Burchins

2004 - Nathan Fleig

Text Area
Simple formatted text
Delete Edit_snippet
Add Snippet